Planning

I’ve done it. I have planned the entire first two weeks of school. I have my handouts created and my binder put together. I can breathe a sigh of relief. I already have two entire book units complete as well.

I think it’s really important to have that first big assignment be the one I use to get to know my students and their abilities. Students will brainstorm, draft, peer edit, revise, and publish their work. They will write five personal vignettes about important moments in their lives. This is a great way for me to learn about my students and for my students to learn about each other.

There is still so much left to do! Since my mom used to teach, I thought it would be nice to ask her to come help me set up my classroom. I will begin that process on Tuesday! Almost there 🙂

Leave a comment